Tag Archives: Linux

BlackBerry PlayBook & Linux

PlayBook - Linux

While most phones, tablets, cameras and other USB devices … act as a mass-storage device, RIM has opted for another solution to the tablet PlayBook. That’s why I post this article. Indeed, the PlayBook looks like a CD-ROM with drivers to install for Windows ! Once the driver for Windows installed, the PlayBook looks again. It is then available as a network drive. The PlayBook indeed behaves as a network interface. The data is then accessible via the network. If …
Continue reading

Posted in BlackBerry, Linux | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Rocrail & Rocview configuration

Rocrail client

For those who have followed the previous articles, you must have read that I want to do a digital network to be able to control it via a computer, a phone or a tablet. The interest is to have an interface as user friendly as possible and especially to overcome the limitations of a central (in my case to the ecos ESU). Eventually, my network must be fully automated or not. Either the computer controls the trains following a schedule …
Continue reading

Posted in Debian, Linux, Rocrail | Tagged , , | 5 Comments

SignatureTool & BlackBerry JDK & IPv6

A new post to update the post about “Devel on a BlackBerry device”. If your system suppots the IPv6 protocol ; the SignatureTool tool doesn’t work To work, you have to only add a command line option to force the tool to work with the IPv4 protocol. So the command is : $ java -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true -jar SignatureTool.jar This option is true for all Java applications aren’t compliant with IPv6.

Posted in BlackBerry, IPv6, Linux | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Tether BlackBerry

Hi and happy new year.

To begin the year, a new post to use your BlackBerry as a modem.

Be carefull ! this option can be expensive and don’t permit by your peer.
Continue reading

Posted in BlackBerry, Debian, Linux | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

Barry using

With several developpers, I help to add the BlackBerry support on Linux. Barry is an Open Source application that will provide synchronization, backup, restore and program management for BlackBerry devices. Barry is primarily developed on Linux, but is intended as a cross platform library and application set, targeting Linux, BSD, 32/64bit, and big/little endian systems.

My repository : http://repo.or.cz/w/barry/progweb.git
Continue reading

Posted in BlackBerry | Tagged , , | 20 Comments

BlackBerry Torch device with Linux

blackberry-torch-9800

Yes ! I have received my new toy ! a BlackBerry Torch. I have quickly tested the new device with Barry tools : btool, barrybackup… ; and the OpenSync synchronization framework.

Here the first results of my tests. Later I’ll post an article about Barry using.
Continue reading

Posted in BlackBerry, Debian, Linux | Tagged , , , | 13 Comments

Devel on a BlackBerry device

An old post where I explain a solution to write applications for your BlackBerry with Linux.

Continue reading

Posted in BlackBerry, Linux | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

BlackBerry Storm device with Linux

BlackBerry - Storm

This evening, an old post about the BlackBerry using with Linux. I use for this several tools : barry and barrybackup ; and also the OpenSync synchronization framework. I explain how use a BlackBerry Storm as a MTP multimedia player.

Continue reading

Posted in BlackBerry, Linux | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

OpenSync install

OpenSync is a synchronization framework that will be a platform independent and in particular Linux. OpenSync is modular : a core and plugins for content formats and different kind of connection types. It should allow it to be a solution to synchronize PIM (Personal Information Management – addressbook contacts, calendar events and tasks, personal notes, etc) data between mobile devices like mobile phones, PDAs (Personal Digital Assistant), desktop computer PIM tools.

As I’m used to use and contribute to OpenSync project, you’ll find a post about
the installation.
Continue reading

Posted in Debian, Linux | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

ProgWeb IPv6 support

Maybe that somebody have noticed that ProgWeb is available from an IPv6 network. Indeed, I have added the IPv6 support for my web server for some days. So, I’ll write in the next days some articles to configure an IPv6 network on Linux (dual stack IPv4/IPv6, firewall, bridging…). For the moment, a little plugin for word-press called “IPv6Detector” (written by Andres Altamirano).

Posted in IPv6, Linux, ProgWeb | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Archives par mot-clef : Linux

BlackBerry PlayBook & Linux

PlayBook - Linux

Alors que la plupart des téléphones, tablettes, appareils photos… et autres périphériques USB se comportent comme un périphérique de stockage, RIM a opté pour une autre solution pour sa tablette PlayBook. C’est pour cela que je poste cet article. En effet, le PlayBook s’annonce comme un lecteur de CD-ROM avec les drivers à installer pour Windows ! Une fois le fameux driver pour Windows installé, le PlayBook s’annonce à nouveau. Il est alors disponible en tant que lecteur réseau. Le …
Continuer la lecture

Publié dans BlackBerry, Linux | Marqué avec , , | 4 commentaires

Installation de Rocrail & Rocview

Rocrail client

Pour ceux qui ont suivi les articles précédents, vous avez dû lire que je souhaite numériser au maximum mon réseau afin d’être capable de le piloter via un ordinateur, un téléphone ou encore une tablette. L’intérêt est d’avoir une interface la plus conviviale possible et surtout de dépasser les limitations d’une centrale (dans mon cas l’ecos d’ESU). A terme, mon réseau doit pouvoir être complètement automatiser ou non. Soit l’ordinateur pilote les trains suivants un tableau horaire ; soit il …
Continuer la lecture

Publié dans Debian, Linux, Rocrail | Marqué avec , , | 5 commentaires

SignatureTool & BlackBerry JDK & IPv6

Un petit message pour indiquer la mise à jour de l’article sur le développement d’applications pour BlackBerry. Si votre système est configuré avec le support de l’IPv6 ; l’outil SignatureTool ne fonctionne pas. Pour cela, il suffit d’ajouter une option sur la ligne de commande pour forcer l’outil à faire de l’IPv4. La commande devient donc : $ java -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true -jar SignatureTool.jar Cette option est vraie pour toutes les applications Java non compatible avec l’IPv6.

Publié dans BlackBerry, IPv6, Linux | Marqué avec , , | Laisser un commentaire

BlackBerry mode modem

Bonjour, et bonne année à tous.

Pour bien commencer l’année, voici un article pour utiliser votre BlackBerry en tant que modem.

Attention, aux hors forfait ; vérifier que vous disposez des bonnes options…
Continuer la lecture

Publié dans BlackBerry, Debian, Linux | Marqué avec , , , , | Un commentaire

Utilisation de Barry

Avec plusieurs développeurs, je contribue au support des BlackBerry sous Linux. Barry est un projet OpenSource qui permet de sauvegarder, restaurer ou syncrhoniser son BlackBerry avec des outils Linux.

Mes contributions : http://repo.or.cz/w/barry/progweb.git
Continuer la lecture

Publié dans BlackBerry | Marqué avec , , | 20 commentaires

BlackBerry Torch sous Linux

blackberry-torch-9800

Après avoir reçu et testé un peu mon nouveau BlackBerry Torch, j’ai testé rapidement Barry et ses différents outils : btool, barrybackup… ; mais aussi le framework de synchronisation OpenSync.

Voici les premiers résultats en attendant un article dédié sur l’utilisation de Barry.
Continuer la lecture

Publié dans BlackBerry, Debian, Linux | Marqué avec , , , | 13 commentaires

Développer des applications BlackBerry

Un ancien post ré-actualisé dans lequel je présente une solution pour le développement d’application pour BlackBerry sous Linux.

Continuer la lecture

Publié dans BlackBerry, Linux | Marqué avec , , , , , | Laisser un commentaire

BlackBerry Storm sous Linux

BlackBerry - Storm

Pour ce soir, un ancien article remis en forme sur l’utilisation d’un BlackBerry sous. Linux. J’utilise pour cela plusieurs outils : barry et barrybackup ; mais aussi le framework de synchronisation OpenSync. Je montre également comment utiliser le BlackBerry Storm comme un lecteur multimédia MTP.

Continuer la lecture

Publié dans BlackBerry, Linux | Marqué avec , , , | 2 commentaires

Installation d’OpenSync

OpenSync est un framework de synchronisation opensource disponible sur plusieurs plateformes dont Linux. OpenSync est basé sur un moteur et un ensemble de plugins et extensions. Cet outil permet de synchroniser plusieurs types de données, et en particulier vos données personnelles (carnet d’adresses, agendas, mémos et tâches) entre différents périphériques entre autres un téléphone, un PDA…

Etant utilisateur et contributeur de ce projet, j’ai rédigé un petit article sur l’installation de cet outil.
Continuer la lecture

Publié dans Debian, Linux | Marqué avec , , | Laisser un commentaire

Support de l’IPv6 pour ProgWeb

Peut-être que certains l’ont remarqué, ProgWeb est maintenant disponible en IPv6. En effet depuis quelques jours, j’ajoute le support de l’IPv6 à mon serveur Internet. J’écrirai donc prochainement de nouveaux articles sur le support de l’IPv6 sous Linux (double stack IPv4/IPv6, firewall, bridging…). En attendant, j’ai ajouté un petite plugin « IPv6Detector » (écrit par Andres Altamirano).

Publié dans IPv6, Linux, ProgWeb | Marqué avec , | Laisser un commentaire